verified_userIndependent data • Reviewed September 2026
Price typeMeasured cash survey · by state · 2023-2024confidence 65/100expand_more

Measured cash survey — State averages measured by a published cash-price survey (ASQ360/CareCredit) or by Real Dental Costs' own observed implant series.

Source
ASQ360°/CareCredit Average Procedural Cost Study 2023-2024 (state averages)
Observation
published cash-price survey, state average
Period
2023-2024
Sample
n = 51
Granularity
by state
Modelled
no — measured
Updated
2026-08-23

Measured state average; the [low, high] band around it is modelled from published national ratios, not an observed percentile.

Confidence 65/100 (medium) = 35 % source tier + 25 % granularity + 20 % freshness + 20 % sample/dispersion. How we score it · same block in the open API

How Much Do Dentures Cost in 2026?

In 2026, dentures cost $500-$1,200 per arch for economy, $1,500-$2,500 for a standard full denture and up to $3,600 premium. Partials run $1,000-$2,800 per arch, while implant-supported dentures range from $3,000 (snap-in) to $15,000+ (fixed). Most prices are quoted per arch, so a full set is roughly double — measured across all removable types combined, a complete upper-and-lower set averages $1,953 nationally (range $1,509–$3,620).

Estimate your denture cost

The price hinges on the type of denture, the material, whether it is implant-supported, and how many arches you replace. Use the calculator for a personalised range, then compare it against the independent per-arch benchmarks underneath.

calculate

Denture Cost Calculator

Adjust the factors below for a personalised 2026 estimate

paymentsEstimated Cost

$1,500
Low Estimate
$2,000
Average Cost
$3,000
High Estimate

* Estimates based on 2026 U.S. national averages. Actual costs vary by location and provider.

timelineLifetime cost projection

Replacing one missing tooth — total cost as the years add up

$6,600
Single implant
$8,000
3-unit bridge
$6,000
Removable partial
✓ Cheapest at this horizon: Removable partial

Illustrative single missing-tooth national averages (2026 USD). Typical longevity (clinical consensus): implant restoration 15+ years, fixed bridge 10–15 years, removable partial 5–8 years.

Denture cost by type, per arch (2026 benchmarks)

Almost every dentist quotes dentures per arch (upper or lower), not per set — so a "$499 denture" is one plate, and replacing both arches roughly doubles it. The single biggest price driver is what you are getting: an economy acrylic plate, a premium denture, a partial, or an implant-supported restoration. The ranges below are reconciled from the 2024 Synchrony/ASQ360 cost study, Delta Dental's internal fee data and published 2026 practice pricing, deliberately free of any single clinic's loss-leader or up-sell framing.

U.S. dentures cost ranges by type, per arch (2026)

Per single arch (upper or lower). A full upper-and-lower set is roughly double. Source: Real Dental Costs — compiled from published payer and provider fee data (2024-2026).

Low–HighAverage

What Medicaid actually pays for dentures (2023-2024)

Medicaid pays dentists $499 per claim line (national weighted average, 2023-2024) for a complete upper denture, per arch (CDT D5110) — that's a per-arch figure, not comparable directly to our "full set" (both arches) average of $1,953 above; against the per-arch $2,000 cash average for a standard full conventional denture, Medicaid's per-arch payment is roughly a quarter as much.

Medicaid paid vs. cash price: complete upper denture

Medicaid paid $499 per claim line for complete upper denture (D5110, 2023-2024, 91,861 claim lines, P25-P75 $400-$710) vs. our cash benchmark $755-$977-$1,810 (per arch = half of our full-set denture band) — cash is ×2.0 the Medicaid paid amount.

$0$489$977$1,466$1,955Medicaid paidWeighted average paid: $499Cash priceAverage cash price: $977

5 highest-paying states

State$/lineLines
Kansas$1,182154
Alaska$1,12013
Minnesota$1,1191,281
Montana$839129
Oklahoma$784683

5 lowest-paying states

State$/lineLines
New Jersey$1431,754
Arkansas$176350
New York$1924,963
Maryland$244651
Idaho$2882,173

* excluded from the ranking above (data-quality flag): Florida (nominal_amounts_suspected), Arizona (nominal_amounts_suspected), Michigan (non_npi_identifiers), Oregon (nominal_amounts_suspected), Virginia (nominal_amounts_suspected).

All states (2023-2024)
State$/line paidP25-P75Claim linesFlagState cash avg
Kansas$1,182$850-$1,446154ok$886
Alaska$1,120$1,120-$1,12013ok$1,186
Minnesota$1,119$1,033-$1,1931,281ok$914
Montana$839$777-$886129ok$975
Michigan$804$698-$8679,360non_npi_identifiers$900
Oklahoma$784$767-$838683ok$838
New Mexico$721$680-$775151ok$887
Nebraska$721$718-$72227ok$889
Colorado$705$660-$80137ok$991
Rhode Island$694$678-$712896ok$1,013
Maine$659$641-$6871,481ok$976
South Carolina$654$608-$674645ok$929
Hawaii$650$642-$66441ok$1,434
Utah$636$480-$841193ok$959
Kentucky$620$606-$6563,208ok$928
California$568$595-$6302,270ok$1,244
Ohio$567$400-$7625,043ok$892
Iowa$559$544-$5851,066ok$873
Louisiana$544$436-$6982,026ok$906
Massachusetts$541$444-$8421,379ok$1,149
Washington$539$616-$78012,242ok$1,103
Wisconsin$514$444-$611310ok$921
North Carolina$505$452-$5861,589ok$910
Tennessee$484$354-$7061,470ok$876
Connecticut$479$462-$49263ok$1,056
Pennsylvania$465$422-$5541,460ok$959
Indiana$463$417-$5243,856ok$882
Texas$446$286-$792753ok$919
Missouri$444$444-$44412ok$847
West Virginia$435$365-$5591,324ok$891
Illinois$410$436-$4443,884ok$964
Nevada$385$298-$562473ok$986
Arizona$374$0-$537283nominal_amounts_suspected$1,009
Oregon$315$0-$6422,868nominal_amounts_suspected$1,063
Florida$297$183-$363733nominal_amounts_suspected$979
Idaho$288$185-$4202,173ok$999
Virginia$280$0-$6635,194nominal_amounts_suspected$957
Maryland$244$0-$584651ok$1,136
New York$192$71-$5644,963ok$1,079
Arkansas$176$154-$195350ok$857
New Jersey$143$0-$4401,754ok$1,112
Price typeMedicaid paid per claim line (T-MSIS) · national · 2023-2024confidence 72/100expand_more

Medicaid paid per claim line (T-MSIS) — Amount Medicaid actually paid per claim line (HHS T-MSIS Medicaid Provider Spending, provider NPI geolocated with NPPES). Paid ≠ allowed ≠ charge.

Source
HHS/CMS Medicaid Provider Spending by HCPCS (T-MSIS), v2026-02-09; provider NPI → state via NPPES (Aug 2026)
Observation
Medicaid paid per claim line, code D5110 (FFS + managed-care encounters + CHIP; cells suppressed below 12 lines / 12 patients)
Period
2023-2024
Sample
n = 91,861
Granularity
national
Modelled
no — measured
Updated
2026-08-23

Paid amount per claim line, not an allowed amount or a consumer price; managed-care states may report nominal amounts; 2024 is preliminary.

Confidence 72/100 (medium) = 35 % source tier + 25 % granularity + 20 % freshness + 20 % sample/dispersion. How we score it · same block in the open API

Paid ≠ allowed ≠ cash price. Managed-care encounters may carry nominal paid amounts in some states. Cells suppressed below 12 claim lines or 12 patients. 2024 data are preliminary. Source: HHS T-MSIS Medicaid Provider Spending v2026-02-09 + NPPES. opendata.hhs.gov.

Medicaid pays $499 for this per-arch denture code; most offices charge cash patients $2,000 per arch: that gap is the reason only 20% of active dentists actually billed Medicaid in 2023-2024.

What each state's Medicaid program officially pays for a denture

The $499 above is what Medicaid actually paid per claim line, blended across every state and every managed-care plan. Each state also publishes an official fee schedule: the fee-for-service rate its program promises a dentist for each CDT code. We extracted the denture codes from 50 published state schedules (2023-2026 editions, linked in the table). For a complete upper denture (D5110) the official rate runs from $311 in Florida to $2,083 in Delaware, with a median of $731 across the 45 states that price it; a cast-metal upper partial (D5213) runs $316 to $2,118 (median $837, 37 states) and a resin-base upper partial (D5211) $166 to $1,637 (median $563). Set the $731 median against the $2,000 per-arch cash average for a standard full conventional denture and the Affordable Dentures & Implants new-denture Economy price of $800: in the typical state the program rate lands just under the chain's economy tier and at roughly a third of the independent-dentist conventional price, which is why a Medicaid-accepting office so often steers adults to the economy line. Texas, New Jersey and Maryland, at roughly $311-$375, pay less than the chain's $400 replacement price; only Delaware and Missouri ($1,608) pay at or above the conventional cash average.

Two cautions before you read the table. A published rate is what the state's fee-for-service program pays; the managed-care plans that now cover most Medicaid adults negotiate their own, often lower, amounts. And a rate on the schedule does not mean an adult is covered: several states list D5110 for children only, or cap adult dentures at one set per five to ten years (see the Medicaid dental coverage by state guide for the adult rules).

StateComplete upperD5110Complete lowerD5120Resin partial, upperD5211Cast-metal partial, upperD5213Schedule effective
Delaware$2,083$2,077$1,637$2,1182026-04-01
Missouri$1,608$1,627$1,279$1,6582026-07-07
South Dakota$1,270$1,270$1,020$1,2992026-07-01
Vermont$1,252$1,252$913$1,235not stated
North Dakota$1,165$1,181$1,032$1,2762026-07-01
Alaska$1,120$1,145—$1,0322026-01-01
Kansas$1,106$1,108$830$1,177not stated
District of Columbia$1,061$1,061$911$1,1142026-07-04
Oregon$1,000$998$781—2026-06-01
Montana$988$988$672$1,1862026-01-01
Minnesota$939$950$650$1,091not stated
Michigan$937$932$729$1,0562026-03-11
Virginia$904$904$885$9942024-07-01
Nebraska$897$897$628$6382026-07-01
Oklahoma$839$839$571$1,0072026-01-01
Louisianachild schedule$838$838$795$1,1642026-01-01
Colorado$834$836$575$8242026-07-01
New Mexico$793$793$538$837not stated
Arizona$792$796$668$8472026-07-01
Tennesseechild schedule$769$769$583$850not stated
Ohio$764$764$392$1,0322025-01-01
Maine$751$751$509$7752026-07-01
Utah$731$731$459$783not stated
Massachusetts$730$730$556—2025-10-02
Rhode Island$730$730$556$1,097not stated
Connecticut$693$693$649$7782026-05-01
Georgia$691$691$284—2026-07-01
Iowa$677$671$325$7522026-01-01
Hawaii$664$664——2026-04-01
Kentucky$656$612$625$5452026-01-01
Nevada$646$646$215$6462026-07-01
West Virginia$635$635$635$6352026-04-01
Alabama$624$624—$5552025-10-01
Wisconsin$613$614$497$4972026-01-01
North Carolina$612$612$454—2026-04-01
Washington$585$585$414—2026-07-01
New York$566$566$354$5662026-01-01
Indiana$559$562$444$5742024-12-12
Pennsylvania$525$525$375$5502026-08-01
California$450$450$250$4702026-05-01
Illinois$444$444——2026-07-01
Maryland$375$375$225—2023-08-01
Texaschild schedule$358$358$263$3822026-09-01
New Jersey$332$342$275$3612026-01-01
Florida$311$311$166$3162026-01-01
Arkansas——$185—not stated
Mississippi————2026-04-01
New Hampshire————2026-01-01
South Carolina————2026-01-01
Wyoming————2026-07-01

Official state Medicaid dental fee schedules (fee-for-service), extracted by Real Dental Costs from each state's published schedule; 50 states retrievable as of 2026-09-18. Where a schedule separates age groups, provider types or dated rows, the current adult (21+) general-dentist rate is shown; Texas, Louisiana and Tennessee publish children's schedules. $0.00 = code listed but not reimbursed; — = code absent from the schedule or not payable for adults. Managed-care plans may pay differently. These are program rates per arch, not patient charges.

Aspen Dental vs Affordable Dentures & Implants vs an independent dentist

The two national denture chains publish their prices, and the two lists do not work the same way. Aspen Dental advertises a Basic denture "starting at" $499 per arch, a price that requires its $49-a-year savings plan, and then publishes averages for its custom tiers (Classic $1,071, Signature $1,488, Signature Elite $1,841 per arch, read on 2026-08-25). Aspen states that it does not accept Medicaid. Affordable Dentures & Implants publishes one grid at all 368 offices we crawled, but with two columns: a replacement price shown by default online ($400 for an Economy arch) and a new-denture price ($800) for people getting dentures for the first time; 120 of its 368 offices list Medicaid. Nobody on the first page of Google explains that new-vs-replacement gap, so the chain's headline price quietly assumes you already have dentures.

Line-by-line prices for the whole Aspen chain — exam, fillings, crowns, implants as well as dentures — are on our independent Aspen Dental price list, and the Affordable Dentures grid is dissected office by office on our Affordable Dentures & Implants price list. If Aspen has already handed you a treatment plan, paste its lines into the Aspen quote decoder: each one is set against the price the chain publishes, our band for your state and what Medicaid actually paid for the same code.

Pick your state and situation below. The tool lines up the two chains against the observed price of an independent dentist in your state, shows what your state Medicaid program actually paid for a complete upper denture, and then stacks the exam, X-ray and extractions on top so you see one realistic total instead of a headline.

Denture Cost Decider: chain vs chain vs independent dentist

Aspen Dental (published 2026-08-25) vs Affordable Dentures & Implants (368 offices, 39 states) vs the observed independent-dentist band in your state

WhereTierDenture, per archOne archMedicaid
Aspen Dentallowest
"Starting at" price; requires the $49/yr Aspen Dental Savings Plan
Basic$499 + $49/yr plan$548Not accepted (chain-wide)
Affordable Dentures & Implants
Same published grid at every office; "replacement" is the default the chain shows online
Economy Dentures$800 (new price; replacement = $400)$800120 of 368 offices list Medicaid
Independent dentist, U.S. average
Per-arch band derived from the observed state price of a full set; a quote can sit anywhere in the band
observed band$977 avg ($755–$1,810)$977Medicaid payment varies by state

Realistic total before insurance (Aspen Dental)

Denture, 1 arch (Basic)$548
Dental exam (mid-point $50–$350)$200
Panoramic / full-mouth X-ray (mid-point)$293
Estimated total$1,041

Aspen Dental prices as published on aspendental.com on 2026-08-25; Affordable Dentures & Implants grid from 368 office pages crawled 2026-08-22; independent band = observed state price of a full set ÷ 2; Medicaid = federal T-MSIS claims, 2023-2024. Independent pricing research, not a quote and not medical advice.

New vs replacement: the price-list detail that changes the bill

Affordable Dentures & Implants tier (per arch)Replacement price (shown by default)New-denture price
Economy Dentures$400$800
EconomyPlus Dentures$850$1,200
Premium Dentures$1,250$1,600
UltimateFit Dentures$1,700$1,900

The replacement column is what the chain's website shows first. If these are your first dentures, read the second column: on the Economy tier the difference is $400 per arch, $800 for a full set. Aspen Dental publishes a single price per tier regardless of history, which is why its Basic denture can look cheaper on paper and cost more once the savings plan and add-ons are counted.

A worked total for a first economy denture

A first-time patient choosing the cheapest tier, one arch, with two simple extractions, typically faces: denture $800 (Affordable Dentures & Implants, new-denture price) + exam about $200 + panoramic X-ray about $290 + two extractions at about $236 each = about $1,762 before insurance, roughly 2.2 times the headline denture price. At Aspen the same scenario starts from $499 plus the $49 plan, and the extractions and imaging are billed on top in the same way. Adjunct figures are the mid-points of the hidden-costs table below.

Does the chain take Medicaid?

Aspen Dental says no, chain-wide. Affordable Dentures & Implants lists Medicaid at 120 of 368 offices (33%), concentrated in a minority of states; the tool shows the count for your state. Where neither chain takes it, an independent office enrolled in Medicaid is the route, and what the program paid that office for a denture (the D5110 figure above and in the tool) tells you how much room there is for a cash upgrade to be pushed on you.

The types of dentures, explained

  • Full (complete) denture — replaces every tooth in an arch and rests on the gums. Often called false teeth, economy versions use stock acrylic teeth; premium versions use better teeth, thinner bases and shade-matching for a more natural look.
  • Partial denture — replaces a few missing teeth and clips onto your remaining natural teeth. Made from resin, flexible nylon (e.g. Valplast) or a cast-metal framework, which is thinner and more durable.
  • Immediate denture — placed the same day teeth are extracted so you are never without teeth. It costs a few hundred dollars more because it needs relines as your gums heal and shrink.
  • Implant-supported denture — snaps onto or is fixed to dental implants. "Snap-in" stays removable; "fixed" and All-on-4 are permanent. They cost more but do not slip and slow jawbone loss.

A dental plate — or fake teeth — is simply another name for a denture — the same product at the same price.

What's actually included in the price

A legitimate denture quote covers the impressions of your mouth, the custom-fabricated denture, the fitting appointments and the early adjustments, according to Delta Dental. What it usually does not cover are the steps below — which is why the cheapest advertised price rarely matches the final bill.

Hidden and adjunct costs people miss

These line items are not "the denture," but they appear on most real treatment plans. They are the main reason a $499 headline becomes a four-figure total:

ItemTypical U.S. cost
Dental exam$50 – $350
Panoramic / full-mouth X-ray$157 – $428
3D CBCT scan (for implants)$361 – $880
Tooth extraction (simple)$137 – $335
Tooth extraction (surgical)$281 – $702
Full-mouth extractions$1,500 – $3,000+
General anesthesia / IV sedation$494 – $1,253
Denture reline (every 1–2 years)$200 – $500

Source: 2024 Synchrony/ASQ360 cost study and published 2026 practice pricing.

What drives the price up or down

  1. Type and tier — economy acrylic, standard, or premium materials can triple the per-arch price for the same arch.
  2. Partial vs full — partials replace fewer teeth, so they often cost less than a full denture, though a cast-metal partial can rival a standard full.
  3. One arch vs two — pricing is per arch, so a full upper-and-lower set is roughly double a single plate.
  4. Implant support — adding implants to stabilise a denture moves it from the hundreds-to-low-thousands range into the $3,000-$15,000+ per-arch range.
  5. Extractions and prep — removing remaining teeth and any bone smoothing (alveoloplasty) before the denture is a major add-on.
  6. Location and provider — metros and prosthodontists run higher than suburban general dentists; on-site denture labs can lower the price. Nationally, state price bands for a full set run from $1,295 at the low end (Oklahoma) to $5,315 at the high end (Hawaii) — roughly a 4× spread documented in our state-by-state 2026 dental cost data.

The "$499 denture" reality

Large chains advertise basic false teeth from about $499 per arch and low-cost studies cite a national average near $452 for both plates. Those numbers are real, but they describe one economy plate with stock teeth — and the fine print adds extractions, X-rays, relines and the second arch separately. For most people replacing a full mouth, the realistic all-in is closer to $3,000-$5,000 for a standard upper-and-lower set of false teeth, before insurance.

Insurance, Medicare, HSA/FSA and financing

  • Private dental plans — most classify dentures as major restorative and cover roughly 40-50%, but a $1,000-$2,500 annual maximum usually truncates the benefit, plus common 6-12 month waiting periods and a 5-8 year frequency limit. Ask for a pre-treatment estimate.
  • Medicare — original Medicare does not cover dentures; some Medicare Advantage plans do, fully or partially.
  • Medicaid — varies by state; some cover one set every 5-6 years, others exclude adult dentures. Where it pays, T-MSIS data show a national average of $499 per claim line for a complete upper denture, per arch (see above).
  • HSA/FSA/HRA — dentures are an IRS-eligible medical expense, so pre-tax dollars cut the real cost by your tax rate.
  • Financing — CareCredit and similar cards offer 0% promotional periods; many practices offer in-house 0% plans over 6-24 months.
Skip the insurance paperwork

Pay 10–60% less at the dentist — starting today

Patient saving money on dental work with a savings plan
10–60%off dental work
  • No waiting period
  • No annual cap
  • Use it the same day
  • Pre-existing conditions OK

A dental savings plan is a membership (not insurance): show your card, pay the discounted rate. No claims, no denials, no annual cap. If you're uninsured or you've hit your plan's maximum, it's usually the cheapest way to pay for exactly the procedure you're pricing on this page.

See plan prices in my area

30-day money-back guarantee · cancel anytime

Disclosure: this is an affiliate link. We may earn a commission if you buy a plan, at no extra cost to you. Real Dental Costs is independent and is not the plan provider.

Dentures vs implants vs bridges: 20-year view

FactorConventional dentureImplant-supported dentureBridge
Upfront cost (per arch)$500 – $3,600$3,000 – $15,000+$2,000 – $4,000 (3–4 teeth)
Typical lifespan5–8 years (relines 1–2 yr)15–20+ years7–10 years
Preserves jawboneNoYesNo
StabilityCan slip; adhesive often neededSecure, no slippingFixed
20-year cost patternRepeated replacement + relinesMostly one-timePeriodic replacement

Conventional dentures are the lowest upfront cost and work even with advanced bone loss, but because they need relines and replacement every 5-8 years, an implant-supported option can narrow the lifetime-cost gap while preserving jawbone. Not sure whether to keep remaining teeth with a partial or extract and go complete? See our complete vs partial dentures: full cost comparison — it covers the full path cost including extractions, an immediate denture and a 10-year maintenance model.

As an Amazon Associate, Real Dental Costs earns from qualifying purchases. Some links below are affiliate links — buying through them costs you nothing extra and helps fund our independent cost research. Recommendations are editorial and never paid placements.

cleaning_services

Reader-picked product

Everyday denture care: adhesive & cleaning tablets

Conventional dentures carry recurring upkeep the quote never lists: a secure-hold adhesive (Fixodent, Poligrip) for the slipping the table above mentions, and overnight cleaning tablets (Polident) to keep the plate fresh between $200–$500 relines.

See denture care on Amazonopen_in_newAmazon affiliate link · current price shown on Amazon

Where you live changes the bill more than the denture type does — see which states have the cheapest dentures in 2026.

Related denture guides

Frequently asked questions

How much do dentures cost?
In 2026, a single removable denture typically runs $500-$1,200 per arch for economy, $1,500-$2,500 for a standard full denture, and $2,000-$3,600 for premium materials. Partials run $1,000-$2,800 per arch. Implant-supported options range from $3,000 (snap-in) to $15,000+ (fixed) per arch.
How much does a full set of dentures cost (both arches)?
Measured across all removable types combined, a complete upper-and-lower set averages $1,953 nationally in 2026, with a typical band of $1,509-$3,620 — state averages run from $1,676 in Oklahoma to $2,867 in Hawaii (ASQ360°/CareCredit cost study). Doubling per-arch quotes gives roughly $1,000-$2,400 for economy and $3,000-$5,000 for standard sets; the measured average blends all removable types, which is why it sits below a doubled 'standard' quote. Implant-supported full sets commonly total $6,000-$30,000+ depending on whether they are snap-in or fixed.
What is the cheapest type of denture?
Economy or 'basic' removable full dentures are the cheapest, advertised from about $499-$800 per arch at large chains. They use standard acrylic and stock teeth, so they look less natural and wear faster. The headline price usually excludes extractions, X-rays and relines, so confirm what is bundled.
What is the difference between partial and full denture cost?
A partial replaces a few teeth and clips onto your remaining natural teeth, so it runs $1,000-$2,800 per arch depending on material (resin, flexible nylon or cast metal). A full denture replaces an entire arch and needs more material and lab work, typically $1,500-$3,600 per arch.
How much do implant-supported (snap-in) dentures cost?
Snap-in (implant-retained removable) dentures run about $3,000-$7,300 per arch, while fixed implant dentures and All-on-4 run $8,000-$15,000+ per arch. They cost far more upfront than conventional dentures but do not slip, chew better and slow jawbone loss.
Does insurance cover dentures?
Most dental plans treat dentures as a major restorative service and cover roughly 40-50%, but an annual maximum of $1,000-$2,500 usually truncates the benefit, and many plans add a 6-12 month waiting period and a 5-8 year frequency limit. Always request a pre-treatment estimate.
Does Medicare or Medicaid cover dentures?
Original Medicare does not cover dentures; some Medicare Advantage plans do, fully or partially. Medicaid coverage varies by state, with some states allowing one set every 5-6 years and others excluding adult dentures entirely. Where Medicaid does cover dentures, federal T-MSIS claims data show it paid dentists a national average of $499 per claim line for a complete upper denture, per arch (CDT D5110) in 2023-2024 — well below the $2,000 per-arch cash average for a standard full denture. Check your specific plan before treatment.
What hidden costs come with dentures?
Beyond the denture, budget for a dental exam ($50-$350), X-rays or a CBCT scan ($150-$880), tooth extractions ($137-$335 simple, $281-$702 surgical, $1,500-$3,000+ full-mouth), possible anesthesia ($494-$1,253), plus relines every 1-2 years to keep the fit as your gums change.
How long do dentures last?
Conventional dentures last about 5-8 years before the fit degrades enough to need replacement, with relines every 1-2 years in between. Implant-supported dentures last 15-20+ years. Over a 20-year horizon the repeated replacement of conventional dentures narrows the gap with implants.
How much do false teeth cost?
False teeth — the common term for dentures — run $500-$1,200 per arch for economy, $1,500-$2,500 for a standard full denture and up to $3,600 for premium. Partials (replacing only some teeth) cost $1,000-$2,800 per arch. Implant-supported false teeth range from $3,000 per arch (snap-in) to $15,000+ (fixed All-on-4).
What are my options for fake teeth?
The main fake-teeth options are: a removable full or partial denture ($500-$3,600 per arch), an implant snap-in denture ($3,000-$7,300 per arch) that clicks onto implants for stability, and a fixed implant denture or All-on-4 ($8,000-$15,000+ per arch) that is permanently attached. A dental bridge or single implant covers one to several missing teeth. See our implant and bridge guides for a full comparison.
Is Aspen Dental or Affordable Dentures cheaper for dentures?
On published prices, the Affordable Dentures & Implants Economy denture is $400 per arch as a replacement and $800 as a first (new) denture, while the Aspen Dental Basic denture starts at $499 per arch and requires its $49-a-year savings plan; Aspen custom tiers average $1,071 to $1,841 per arch. Which is cheaper depends on whether it is your first denture, the tier, and the extractions and imaging billed on top. Use the comparator on this page for your state.
Do Aspen Dental or Affordable Dentures accept Medicaid for dentures?
Aspen Dental states that it does not accept Medicaid. Affordable Dentures & Implants lists Medicaid at about a third of its offices (120 of 368 crawled in August 2026), so it depends on the office and the state. An independent dentist enrolled in your state Medicaid program is often the only route, and adult denture coverage itself varies by state.
How much does Medicaid pay dentists for a denture?
Federal T-MSIS claims data show Medicaid paid dentists a national average of $499 per claim line for a complete upper denture, per arch (CDT D5110) in 2023-2024 — a per-arch figure, well below the $2,000 per-arch cash average for a standard full denture. Adult denture coverage still varies by state, with some states allowing one set every 5-6 years and others excluding adult dentures entirely; only 20% of active U.S. dentists billed Medicaid at all in 2023-2024.
What is the Medicaid fee schedule rate for a complete denture in my state?
It depends on the state: published fee-for-service rates for a complete upper denture (CDT D5110) range from about $358 in Texas to about $2,083 in Delaware, with a median near $751 across the 49 state schedules we could retrieve (2023-2026 editions). Managed-care Medicaid plans may pay dentists a different amount, and a rate on the schedule does not by itself mean adults are covered — check your state's adult denture rules.
Researched & verified by the Real Dental Costs Data & Research Team

Independent dental pricing research — every series carries a named source, and corrections are logged publicly. Not medical advice.

Reviewed: How we verify our data

Data Methodology & Sources

The Real Dental Costs Data & Research Team publishes the source of every series. Single-implant prices are our own observed dataset, published openly (DOI 10.5281/zenodo.20531728). Braces, veneer, crown and denture prices are from the Average Procedural Cost Study conducted by ASQ360° Market Research for Synchrony's CareCredit. Remaining procedures are compiled from published payer and provider fee data (2024–2026) and are national estimates that vary by provider and location. Corrections are logged publicly.
Pricing & Research Disclaimer: Real Dental Costs publishes independent dental pricing and market-research data for informational purposes only. It is not medical advice, a diagnosis, or a treatment recommendation. Costs vary by provider and location — always consult a licensed dentist for clinical guidance and an exact quote.