verified_userIndependent data • Reviewed September 2026
Price typeMeasured cash survey · by state · 2023-2024confidence 65/100expand_more

Measured cash survey — State averages measured by a published cash-price survey (ASQ360/CareCredit) or by Real Dental Costs' own observed implant series.

Source
ASQ360°/CareCredit Average Procedural Cost Study 2023-2024 (state averages)
Observation
published cash-price survey, state average
Period
2023-2024
Sample
n = 51
Granularity
by state
Modelled
no — measured
Updated
2026-08-23

Measured state average; the [low, high] band around it is modelled from published national ratios, not an observed percentile.

Confidence 65/100 (medium) = 35 % source tier + 25 % granularity + 20 % freshness + 20 % sample/dispersion. How we score it · same block in the open API

Dental Crown Cost in 2026

A single dental crown averages $1,369 per tooth in the U.S. in 2026 — measured state averages run from $1,046 in Alabama to $2,331 in California, and material widens the band to $800-$2,500: porcelain-fused-to-metal is the most affordable tooth-colored option, while zirconia, gold and E-max sit at the top. With insurance you typically pay $500-$900 out of pocket.

Dental crown cost by material (2026 benchmarks)

The single biggest driver of the price of a crown — commonly called a tooth cap — is the material, not the dentist. The chart below shows independent low–high ranges for the seven crown types you will actually be quoted, on one shared scale so they are directly comparable. Ranges are compiled from the ASQ360°/CareCredit Average Procedural Cost Study and published 2024-2026 cost data, and are deliberately free of any single clinic's commercial framing — chain DSOs tend to understate, premium cosmetic practices to overstate.

Dental crown cost by material (2026)

Per single tooth. Stainless steel applies to children's primary (baby) teeth. Source: Real Dental Costs — compiled from published payer and provider fee data (2024-2026).

Low–HighAverage

What Medicaid actually pays for a crown (2023-2024)

Medicaid pays dentists $546 per claim line (national weighted average, 2023-2024) for an all-ceramic/porcelain crown (CDT D2740) — roughly a third of the $1,369 cash average above. That gap is one reason coverage is so uneven state to state.

Medicaid paid vs. cash price: porcelain/ceramic crown

Medicaid paid $546 per claim line for porcelain/ceramic crown (D2740, 2023-2024, 660,776 claim lines, P25-P75 $474-$693) vs. our cash benchmark $1,046-$1,369-$2,331 — cash is ×2.5 the Medicaid paid amount.

$0$629$1,259$1,888$2,517Medicaid paidWeighted average paid: $546Cash priceAverage cash price: $1,369

5 highest-paying states

State$/lineLines
Texas$9309,479
Missouri$8161,648
Ohio$75623,830
Oklahoma$715181
Rhode Island$6993,898

5 lowest-paying states

State$/lineLines
Vermont$10161
District of Columbia$1551,755
Alabama$3482,763
Nevada$3771,341
Alaska$3861,258

* excluded from the ranking above (data-quality flag): Arizona (nominal_amounts_suspected), Michigan (non_npi_identifiers), Florida (nominal_amounts_suspected), Virginia (nominal_amounts_suspected), Oregon (nominal_amounts_suspected).

All states (2023-2024)
State$/line paidP25-P75Claim linesFlagState cash avg
Texas$930$479-$8559,479ok$1,250
Missouri$816$649-$1,0491,648ok$1,198
Ohio$756$776-$81723,830ok$1,231
Oklahoma$715$580-$866181ok$1,141
Rhode Island$699$683-$7323,898ok$1,507
Minnesota$692$476-$982434ok$1,292
Mississippi$684$483-$807120ok$1,143
Colorado$668$477-$84950,790ok$1,404
Connecticut$666$643-$7324,385ok$1,529
Massachusetts$660$652-$729119,697ok$1,486
North Carolina$658$472-$849567ok$1,195
Oregon$635$476-$849136nominal_amounts_suspected$1,506
Utah$630$481-$7853,525ok$1,452
Georgia$629$460-$802535ok$1,205
Michigan$617$553-$70394,863non_npi_identifiers$1,217
Maine$603$552-$664546ok$1,356
West Virginia$602$556-$6652,344ok$1,159
Wisconsin$599$313-$7781,390ok$1,259
Idaho$591$461-$812561ok$1,435
Kansas$590$421-$574140ok$1,237
Montana$587$529-$7001,237ok$1,308
Pennsylvania$587$425-$7105,590ok$1,340
South Carolina$572$452-$596247ok$1,217
New Hampshire$547$474-$669962ok$1,458
Kentucky$531$463-$6234,292ok$1,186
Louisiana$516$620-$65097ok$1,278
Tennessee$501$456-$55512,588ok$1,213
California$474$476-$476184,307ok$2,331
Washington$464$476-$607754ok$1,714
New Mexico$464$476-$476719ok$1,149
Nebraska$451$391-$4833,131ok$1,205
New York$449$226-$64724,129ok$1,425
Illinois$431$291-$4617,215ok$1,522
Iowa$426$387-$4532,881ok$1,130
Indiana$420$0-$589811ok$1,160
Maryland$405$383-$3947,960ok$1,753
New Jersey$399$351-$50929,354ok$1,605
Florida$397$203-$5772,025nominal_amounts_suspected$1,372
Arizona$391$33-$4764,429nominal_amounts_suspected$1,303
Alaska$386$239-$6131,258ok$1,644
Nevada$377$349-$4271,341ok$1,417
Alabama$348$276-$4652,763ok$1,046
District of Columbia$155$0-$6311,755ok$1,921
Virginia$110$0-$026,224nominal_amounts_suspected$1,319
Vermont$101$0-$23861ok$1,365
Price typeMedicaid paid per claim line (T-MSIS) · national · 2023-2024confidence 74/100expand_more

Medicaid paid per claim line (T-MSIS) — Amount Medicaid actually paid per claim line (HHS T-MSIS Medicaid Provider Spending, provider NPI geolocated with NPPES). Paid ≠ allowed ≠ charge.

Source
HHS/CMS Medicaid Provider Spending by HCPCS (T-MSIS), v2026-02-09; provider NPI → state via NPPES (Aug 2026)
Observation
Medicaid paid per claim line, code D2740 (FFS + managed-care encounters + CHIP; cells suppressed below 12 lines / 12 patients)
Period
2023-2024
Sample
n = 660,776
Granularity
national
Modelled
no — measured
Updated
2026-08-23

Paid amount per claim line, not an allowed amount or a consumer price; managed-care states may report nominal amounts; 2024 is preliminary.

Confidence 74/100 (medium) = 35 % source tier + 25 % granularity + 20 % freshness + 20 % sample/dispersion. How we score it · same block in the open API

Paid ≠ allowed ≠ cash price. Managed-care encounters may carry nominal paid amounts in some states. Cells suppressed below 12 claim lines or 12 patients. 2024 data are preliminary. Source: HHS T-MSIS Medicaid Provider Spending v2026-02-09 + NPPES. opendata.hhs.gov.

Medicaid pays $546 for this crown code; most offices charge cash patients $1,369 — that gap is the reason only 20% of active US dentists actually billed Medicaid for any procedure in 2023-2024.

A few practical notes on the materials — with the CDT procedure code you will see on an itemized estimate, which is the fastest way to check which material you are actually being billed for:

  • Porcelain-fused-to-metal (PFM) — codes D2750-D2752 depending on the alloy. A metal core under a tooth-colored shell. The most affordable natural-looking option, but a thin dark line can show at the gumline over time.
  • All-ceramic / all-porcelain — code D2740. Metal-free and highly aesthetic, the usual choice for visible front teeth.
  • Zirconia — also billed as D2740 (zirconia is a ceramic). Very strong and tooth-colored, increasingly the default recommendation for molars and front teeth alike.
  • E-max (lithium disilicate) — billed as D2740 as well; prized for translucency on single front teeth; premium aesthetics.
  • Gold / metal alloy — codes D2790-D2792 by alloy class. The most durable and gentlest on opposing teeth; usually reserved for out-of-sight back molars.
  • Same-day (CEREC) — milled chairside in one visit, so there is no temporary crown and no second appointment.
  • Stainless steel — prefabricated, low-cost crowns used almost exclusively on children's baby teeth.

Where you live moves these numbers too: the same porcelain crown averages $1,046 in Alabama versus $2,331 in California (measured state averages, ASQ360°/CareCredit). Our State of U.S. Dental Costs 2026 report maps that state-by-state spread across 12 procedures.

What state Medicaid programs officially pay for a crown (49 states, 2026)

The T-MSIS figure above is what Medicaid actually paid per claim line, blended across every state. Each state also publishes an official fee schedule: the fee-for-service rate its program promises a dentist for each CDT code. We extracted the six crown-related codes from 49 published schedules — 48 states plus the District of Columbia (2023-2026 editions, each linked in the table). For an all-ceramic or zirconia crown (D2740) the official rate runs from $252 in Texas to $1,513 in Delaware, with a median of $555 across the 35 states that price it; a porcelain-fused-to-base-metal crown (D2751) runs $273 to $1,418 (median $525). The two lines a crown quote usually carries alongside the crown itself are priced on their own here too: a core buildup (D2950) at a median of $146 and a prefabricated post and core (D2954) at a median of $149. Set the D2740 median against the $546 that T-MSIS shows Medicaid actually paying and against the $1,369 measured cash average: the promised rate and the paid rate land within about twenty dollars of each other, and both sit well under half of what a cash patient is quoted.

StatePorcelain / ceramicD2740PFM, base metalD2751PFM, high nobleD2750Core buildupD2950Post & coreD2954Schedule effective
Delaware$1,513$1,418$0.00$361$4482026-04-01
Missouri$1,049$971$1,030$250$3092026-07-07
Vermont$892$833$945$214$253not stated
South Dakota$838$767$800$209$2232026-07-01
Alaska$827$692—$210$3162026-01-01
Michigan$818$677$744$192$2292026-03-11
Ohio$817$470—$146$2612025-01-01
Montana$790$632—$158$1982026-01-01
North Dakota$767$671$823$203$1992026-07-01
West Virginia$745$745$745$164$1882026-04-01
Massachusetts$729$613—$164$1912025-10-02
Colorado$703$635$696$132$1612026-07-01
District of Columbia$690$690$690$220$1522026-07-04
Virginia$670$670$670$148$1482024-07-01
Maine$622$534$698$139$1842026-07-01
Tennesseechild schedule$616$616$616$149$195not stated
Oregon$572$647—$150$1862026-06-01
Arizona$555$527$544$131$1432026-07-01
Rhode Island$550$450$550$164$191not stated
Alabama$538$470$511$109$1392025-10-01
Kentucky$530$457$599$134$1302026-01-01
New York$505$505$505—$1262026-01-01
Utah$501$501$501$85$93not stated
Pennsylvania$500$500——$802026-08-01
New Mexico$478$478—$119$98not stated
Nevada$474$344—$129$1082026-07-01
Iowa$470$465$522$123$842026-01-01
Nebraska$460$460$460$99$1272026-07-01
Wisconsin$422$338——$1472026-01-01
Maryland$394$396$492$85$742023-08-01
California$340$340——$752026-05-01
Kansas$324$450——$120not stated
New Jersey$278$278$278$50$502026-01-01
Illinois$273$273$273$67$332026-07-01
Texaschild schedule$252$535$535$43$722026-09-01
Arkansas—————not stated
Connecticut—$523—$81$1502026-05-01
Florida—————2026-01-01
Georgia————$562026-07-01
Hawaii———$112$1262026-04-01
Louisianachild schedule———$174$2722026-01-01
Minnesota———$151$162not stated
Mississippi—————2026-04-01
North Carolina———$103—2026-04-01
New Hampshire—————2026-01-01
Oklahoma—————2026-01-01
South Carolina—————2026-01-01
Washington—————2026-07-01
Wyoming—————2026-07-01

Official state Medicaid dental fee schedules (fee-for-service), extracted by Real Dental Costs from each state's published schedule; 49 jurisdictions (48 states plus the District of Columbia) retrievable as of 2026-09-18. Where a schedule separates age groups, provider types or dated rows, the current adult (21+) general-dentist rate is shown; Texas, Louisiana and Tennessee publish children's schedules. $0.00 = code listed but not reimbursed; — = code absent from the schedule or not payable for adults. Managed-care plans may pay differently. These are program rates, not patient charges.

Four things the table changes. First, "Medicaid covers crowns" is worth very different amounts: a dentist in Delaware is promised $1,513 for a porcelain crown, one in Texas (a children's schedule) $252, a 6x spread on the same code, which is why Medicaid crown acceptance is concentrated in the higher-rate states. Second, some schedules mark the crown codes not covered for adults or leave them out: Indiana's, for instance, marks every crown code not covered and prices root canals only for ages 1-20, so the adult program restores the tooth with a filling or extracts it, and a Medicaid patient quoted a crown there is paying cash. Third, in 4 states (Kansas, Maryland, Oregon, Texas) the base-metal PFM is reimbursed above the all-ceramic crown, the reverse of the cash market, where the ceramic is always the pricier line. Fourth, the buildup: 35 schedules price D2950 as its own line, so the "buildup is inclusive" denial some private insurers issue has no equivalent in Medicaid fee-for-service; where D2950 shows a dash, the schedule we retrieved does not list it. If your state is missing from the table, its schedule was either not retrievable in a machine-readable form or does not price the crown codes at all; the Medicaid dental coverage by state guide carries the coverage rules, and the root canal page shows the same tables for the endodontic codes that usually precede a crown.

What's actually included in the price

A quoted crown fee normally bundles four things — and excludes the add-ons a damaged tooth often needs:

Usually included in the crown fee:

  • The temporary crown worn while the lab makes the permanent one (not needed with same-day CEREC).
  • The custom lab-made permanent crown itself — typically the largest cost component.
  • The dentist's preparation, impression/scan and shade matching.
  • Final fit, adjustment and cementation.

Usually billed separately:

Add-onTypical U.S. cost
Initial exam & X-ray$50 – $250
Cone-beam CT (CBCT) scan$150 – $750
Core buildup$150 – $500
Post and core$250 – $650
Root canal (if the nerve is involved)$700 – $2,100

When one quote looks far cheaper than another, it is almost always because it leaves out a buildup, post and core, or root canal that the tooth genuinely requires. Always ask for an itemized estimate before comparing two prices. If several teeth need crowns, it's worth comparing that total against how much dentures cost per arch before committing to a full-mouth plan.

With vs without insurance: the real math

Most dental plans treat a crown as a major restorative procedure and pay about 50% of the allowed amount after your deductible — so a $1,400 crown often nets out around $500-$900 out of pocket. Estimate your own number first, then walk the clauses that decide whether the estimate holds.

calculate

Crown Coverage & Out-of-Pocket Calculator

See your estimated net cost with a typical 50%-after-deductible dental plan

paymentsCoverage Estimate

50%
Coverage Rate
$600
Your Cost
$600
Insurance Pays
With vs without insurance
Without coverage (full price)$1,200
With coverage (50%)$600
You pay $600Plan pays $600

* Estimates based on 2026 U.S. national averages. Actual costs vary by location and provider.

Cash vs with-insurance net cost by material

Insurance does not change the material ranking — it shifts every range down by roughly half, until the annual maximum runs out. Net figures assume a typical plan paying ~50% of the allowed amount after deductible, applied to the same benchmark ranges charted above:

MaterialCash (no insurance)Plan pays (~50%, before cap)Your net out-of-pocket
PFM (porcelain-fused-to-metal)$800 – $2,000$400 – $1,000$400 – $1,000
All-ceramic / zirconia$1,000 – $2,500$500 – $1,250$500 – $1,250+
Gold / metal alloy$900 – $2,500$450 – $1,250$450 – $1,250+

Two things this table makes visible that single-material guides hide. First, the plan's share is capped by the annual maximum: on a $2,500 crown a $1,000-$1,500 cap stops the plan short of a true 50%, so your real net climbs above the simple half. Second, the plan pays its percentage of its own allowed fee, not your dentist's charge — an out-of-network or premium practice widens the gap further.

Three plan mechanics decide your real number:

  1. Annual maximum. Many plans cap total benefits at $1,000-$2,000 a year. A single crown — especially with a buildup or root canal in the same year — can consume most of it.
  2. Two calendar years. If you need two crowns, staging one in December and one in January taps two annual maximums instead of one.
  3. Waiting periods & network. New individual plans commonly impose a 6-12 month waiting period on major work before crown benefits begin — if the tooth needs a crown now, buying a plan today often will not help with this crown. An in-network dentist accesses the plan's discounted fee schedule; ask for a pre-treatment estimate in writing.

The annual maximum is the mechanic that bites hardest, because it applies to your whole plan year, not to each procedure. Model your year on your own state's prices:

calculate

Annual maximum calculator

What a dental plan really pays on your state's prices — and what is left for you

The downgrade (alternate-benefit) clause

This is the clause that surprises people at checkout. Many plans reimburse only up to the cost of the least expensive functional material — usually PFM or a base-metal crown. Choose zirconia, all-ceramic or gold and the plan still pays its dollar amount for the cheap material; you pay the full upgrade difference. A costlier material rarely raises the plan's payout — it just raises your net.

Missing-tooth and replacement-frequency clauses

  • Missing-tooth clause: the insurer can deny coverage for restoring a tooth that was already missing before the policy started. It mainly affects bridges and implants, but it reaches crowns used as bridge abutments for a previously lost tooth.
  • Replacement-frequency clause: a plan may refuse to pay for a new crown if the existing one is under 5-7 years old, even if it failed early.

Is buying a plan worth it for one crown?

For a single crown needed soon, buying a new individual plan often loses to paying cash:

Cost lineTypical amount
Annual premiums$300 – $600
Deductible$50 – $100
Spend before the plan pays a cent$350 – $700
Annual maximum (cap on payout)$1,000 – $1,500
Waiting period before crown benefits6 – 12 months

On a $1,200 crown, a plan paying 50% returns about $550-$600 — but you spent $350-$700 in premiums and deductible to unlock it, and may have waited 6-12 months first. Buying a plan pays off when you expect multiple major procedures across the year so you approach the annual maximum. For one crown soon, compare a dental savings plan (no waiting period) or cash with HSA/FSA dollars.

Medicare Original generally does not cover crowns (some Medicare Advantage plans do), and adult Medicaid coverage varies by state, though Medicaid does cover medically necessary crowns for children.

Skip the insurance paperwork

Pay 10–60% less at the dentist — starting today

Patient saving money on dental work with a savings plan
10–60%off dental work
  • No waiting period
  • No annual cap
  • Use it the same day
  • Pre-existing conditions OK

A dental savings plan is a membership (not insurance): show your card, pay the discounted rate. No claims, no denials, no annual cap. If you're uninsured or you've hit your plan's maximum, it's usually the cheapest way to pay for exactly the procedure you're pricing on this page.

See plan prices in my area

30-day money-back guarantee · cancel anytime

Disclosure: this is an affiliate link. We may earn a commission if you buy a plan, at no extra cost to you. Real Dental Costs is independent and is not the plan provider.

Why molars cost more than front teeth

Two forces push molar crowns higher. First, bite force: back teeth absorb the heaviest chewing load, so dentists favour stronger, pricier materials like zirconia or gold there. Second, tooth condition: molars that need a crown have often had large fillings or a root canal, which means a core buildup or a post and core is added to the bill. Front teeth, by contrast, prioritise a precise shade-matched ceramic for appearance — that lab artistry costs more on the aesthetics side but the tooth itself usually needs less structural rebuilding.

Lab crown vs same-day (CEREC) crown

FactorLab-made crownSame-day (CEREC)
AppointmentsTwo (prep, then fit ~2 weeks later)One
Temporary crownYesNo
MaterialsLayered ceramics, PFM, gold, zirconiaMilled ceramic / zirconia block
Aesthetics on front teethCan be slightly better (hand-layered)Excellent for most cases
Typical cost$800 – $2,500$1,000 – $2,300

For most molars and many front teeth a same-day crown is equivalent in cost and saves a visit. A skilled ceramist's layered lab crown still has an edge for a single highly visible front tooth where translucency matters most. If the tooth is otherwise healthy, weigh that against what a veneer would cost for the same front tooth before agreeing to a full crown prep.

How long crowns last by material

Lifespan is the other half of the value equation — a durable crown on a hard-working molar can be the lower cost per year even if it costs more upfront:

MaterialTypical lifespan
Gold / metal alloy15 – 30 years
Zirconia10 – 20 years
Porcelain-fused-to-metal8 – 15 years
All-ceramic / E-max5 – 15 years

Grinding (bruxism), poor hygiene and decay creeping under an aging cap's margin are the main reasons a crown fails early. A nightguard for grinders is one of the cheapest ways to protect the investment — which is why caps for teeth on back molars are often paired with a custom occlusal guard.

If a crown does come loose between appointments, resist the urge to glue it back with anything from the toolbox — a pharmacy temporary cement is the only safe stopgap until the dentist can re-cement it properly.

As an Amazon Associate, Real Dental Costs earns from qualifying purchases. Some links below are affiliate links — buying through them costs you nothing extra and helps fund our independent cost research. Recommendations are editorial and never paid placements.

healing

Reader-picked product

Dentemp temporary repair kit (for a loose crown until you can be seen)

A pharmacy-grade temporary cement (Dentemp, DenTek) holds a loose crown or lost filling for a day or two until your appointment — a few dollars, and the only safe at-home stopgap versus super glue. Dry-fit first, then a thin layer.

See it on Amazonopen_in_newAmazon affiliate link · current price shown on Amazon

Crown prices swing by state — see crown costs ranked for all 51 US markets. And if you already have a written quote in hand, check it against what a crown should cost in your state — our independent Fair Price Benchmark.

The CDT codes on your crown quote

A crown rarely arrives as one line on a treatment plan. These are the ADA procedure codes you're most likely to see, matched to the published ranges above:

CodeWhat it means on your billOur published range
D2740All-ceramic / all-porcelain crown$1,000 – $2,500
D2750Porcelain-fused-to-metal (PFM) crown$800 – $2,000
D2790Full cast metal / gold crown$900 – $2,500
D2950Core buildup — rebuilding missing tooth structure so the crown has something to gripusually a separate line — see below
D2954Post and core — a post anchored in the root canal supporting the buildupseparate line, typically after a root canal
D2920Re-cementing an existing crown that came loosea repair visit, priced well below a new crown

The line that causes the most billing disputes is D2950, the buildup. Insurers frequently treat it as "inclusive" of the crown fee and deny it as a separate charge when the documentation is thin — which can quietly move that cost to you. Before treatment, ask two questions: is a buildup quoted separately on my plan, and does my insurance cover it as its own line? And if your plan pays for the crown itself, remember most policies limit how often they'll pay to replace a crown on the same tooth — ask for your plan's replacement interval before assuming coverage. If the quote comes from Aspen Dental, run it through the Aspen quote decoder: it lines up D2740 and D2950 against the chain's published price, our state band and the $1,702 that New Hampshire's all-payer claims database shows Aspen actually billing for a porcelain crown — 34% above the $1,269 it publishes.

Related crown guides

Frequently asked questions

How much does a dental crown cost without insurance?
A single permanent crown averages $1,369 per tooth in the U.S. in 2026 (measured state averages), with material pushing the typical band to $800-$2,500. Porcelain-fused-to-metal sits at the lower end (around $1,100 on average), while all-ceramic, zirconia and E-max average roughly $1,300-$1,600. A buildup, post and core, or root canal can add several hundred dollars more.
How much does a dental crown cost with insurance?
Most dental plans classify a crown as a major restorative procedure and pay about 50% of the allowed amount after your deductible, bringing a typical out-of-pocket cost to roughly $500-$900. One crown can use most of an annual maximum of $1,000-$2,000, so confirm your deductible, cap and waiting period first.
Which crown material is cheapest and which is most expensive?
Porcelain-fused-to-metal is usually the most affordable tooth-colored option, and stainless steel (used for children's baby teeth) is the cheapest overall at $200-$500. All-ceramic, zirconia, gold and E-max are the priciest, commonly $1,200-$2,500 per tooth, because of materials, aesthetics and lab work.
Why do crowns on molars cost more than front teeth?
Back molars absorb heavy chewing force, so dentists often choose stronger, costlier materials like zirconia or gold there. Front teeth need precise shade-matched ceramic for appearance, which adds lab fees. The tooth's condition matters too — a molar needing a buildup or post and core costs more than a simple front-tooth crown.
What is included in the price of a crown?
A standard crown fee usually covers the temporary crown, the lab-made permanent crown, the dentist's preparation and shade matching, and final cementation. It generally does NOT include a core buildup ($150-$500), a post and core ($250-$650), or a root canal ($700-$2,100) — those are billed separately when the tooth needs them.
How long do dental crowns last by material?
With good care, porcelain-fused-to-metal crowns last about 8-15 years, all-ceramic 5-15 years, zirconia 10-20 years, and gold 15-30 years. Lifespan depends heavily on bite force, grinding and oral hygiene, which is why a more durable material can be the lower cost per year on a hard-working molar.
Does a same-day (CEREC) crown cost more than a lab crown?
Same-day chairside crowns milled with CEREC cost about the same as a comparable lab crown, often $1,000-$2,300, and save you a second visit and a temporary. Lab-made crowns can offer layered ceramics with slightly better aesthetics on highly visible front teeth, which is why dentists still recommend them in some cases.
How can I lower the cost of a dental crown?
Choose a cost-appropriate material for the tooth's location, use HSA/FSA pre-tax dollars, ask about an in-office dental membership plan (often 15-20% off) or CareCredit financing, split multiple crowns across two calendar years to use two annual maximums, and consider dental school clinics or community health centers for reduced rates.
How much does a dental cap cost?
A dental cap — the everyday term for a crown — costs $800-$2,500 per tooth in the U.S. in 2026. Porcelain-fused-to-metal caps average around $1,100, while zirconia and E-max caps average $1,500-$1,600. With insurance covering roughly 50% after the deductible, most patients pay $500-$900 out of pocket for one cap.
Does insurance pay more if I choose zirconia or gold over PFM?
Usually no. Many plans apply an alternate-benefit (downgrade) clause: they reimburse only up to the cost of the least expensive functional material — often PFM or a base-metal crown — and you pay the full upgrade difference to zirconia, all-ceramic or gold. So choosing a costlier material rarely increases the dollar amount the plan pays.
Is there a waiting period before insurance covers a crown?
Frequently yes. Major restorative work like a crown commonly carries a 6-12 month waiting period on new individual plans before benefits begin. If your tooth needs a crown now, buying a plan today may not help with this crown at all — many people pay cash or use a dental savings plan, which has no waiting period, instead.
What is the missing-tooth clause and how does it affect a crown?
The missing-tooth clause lets an insurer deny coverage for replacing a tooth that was already missing before the policy started. It mainly hits bridges and implants, but it matters for crowns too: if a crown is part of replacing a previously lost tooth (a bridge abutment, for example), the plan may decline it even though a crown on your own natural tooth would be covered.
Does insurance cover a crown after a root canal?
Generally yes — a crown that protects a tooth after a root canal is treated as medically necessary major restorative work and is covered at the usual ~50% after deductible. The catch is the annual maximum: a root canal ($700-$2,100) plus the crown in the same year can blow past a $1,000-$1,500 cap, leaving the second procedure largely out of pocket.
Are cosmetic crowns covered by dental insurance?
No. Crowns placed purely to improve appearance on an otherwise healthy tooth are considered elective cosmetic treatment and are excluded from coverage. Plans only pay when a crown restores a tooth damaged by decay, fracture or a root canal. A replacement-frequency clause may also deny a new crown if the existing one is under 5-7 years old.
Does Medicaid cover a crown and how much does it pay?
Adult Medicaid crown coverage varies by state (children's medically necessary crowns are covered nationwide). Two numbers describe what a state pays. Federal T-MSIS claims data show Medicaid paid dentists a national average of $546 per claim line for an all-ceramic/porcelain crown (CDT D2740) in 2023-2024, about a third of the $1,369 U.S. cash average. Each state also publishes an official fee schedule: across the 49 schedules we extracted for 2026, the fee-for-service rate for D2740 runs from about $252 (Texas, a children's schedule) to $1,513 (Delaware), median $555; the table on this page links every schedule. Only 20% of active U.S. dentists billed Medicaid at all in 2023-2024, so provider availability, not just the fee, limits access.
Does Medicaid pay for the core buildup or post under a crown?
Usually as its own line. 35 of the 49 state fee schedules we extracted price a core buildup (CDT D2950) separately, from about $43 to $361 (median $146), and 40 price a prefabricated post and core (D2954), median $149. That differs from many private plans, which treat the buildup as included in the crown fee and deny it as a separate charge. Where the code is absent from a state's schedule, the program simply does not list it as a payable line.
Researched & verified by the Real Dental Costs Data & Research Team

Independent dental pricing research — every series carries a named source, and corrections are logged publicly. Not medical advice.

Reviewed: How we verify our data

Data Methodology & Sources

The Real Dental Costs Data & Research Team publishes the source of every series. Single-implant prices are our own observed dataset, published openly (DOI 10.5281/zenodo.20531728). Braces, veneer, crown and denture prices are from the Average Procedural Cost Study conducted by ASQ360° Market Research for Synchrony's CareCredit. Remaining procedures are compiled from published payer and provider fee data (2024–2026) and are national estimates that vary by provider and location. Corrections are logged publicly.
Pricing & Research Disclaimer: Real Dental Costs publishes independent dental pricing and market-research data for informational purposes only. It is not medical advice, a diagnosis, or a treatment recommendation. Costs vary by provider and location — always consult a licensed dentist for clinical guidance and an exact quote.