Guardian Dental Insurance Cost 2026: An Independent Guide
Independent guide. Real Dental Costs is not affiliated with or endorsed by Guardian Life Insurance Company or Guardian Direct. For plan-specific quotes, use guardianlife.com or guardiandirect.com. This page explains Guardian's plan structure and gives you an independent out-of-pocket estimator.
Guardian's individual dental plans, called Advantage 2.0, start at $17 to $46/month (national "starting at"), and $23 to $75/month in the large metros we quoted. All five tiers are PPO — Guardian doesn't sell an individual DHMO — with preventive 100% covered and major care at 50-60% after a 12-month wait (guardianlife.com, retrieved Sept 7, 2026).
What will Guardian actually pay for your procedure?
Enter your planned procedure and the estimator models your out-of-pocket under a mid-tier Guardian Advantage 2.0 plan (roughly Achiever/Diamond-level coverage). For Guardian-specific plan profiles, use the PPO profile — Guardian's Advantage 2.0 structure is PPO-based, so it closely matches the standard PPO input in this tool.
What Will Guardian Actually Pay?
Estimate your out-of-pocket cost on a typical crown or major procedure
paymentsCoverage Estimate
* Estimates based on 2026 U.S. national averages. Actual costs vary by location and provider.
This is a generic PPO estimator; Guardian's actual coinsurance varies by Advantage 2.0 tier — see the coverage table below (guardianlife.com, retrieved Sept 7, 2026). Your actual cost depends on your specific plan tier, deductible status, remaining annual maximum, and your dentist's contracted in-network fee. Guardian is not a selectable insurer in this tool — use the standard PPO profile as the closest match.
How much does Guardian dental insurance cost? (2026 Advantage 2.0 tiers)
Guardian's individual dental lineup for adults 18+ is called Advantage 2.0 — five PPO tiers, no individual DHMO. National "starting at" prices and the coverage that comes with each tier (guardianlife.com, individuals-families/dental-insurance, retrieved Sept 7, 2026):
| Plan | Starting at | Yearly max | Basic coinsurance (in/out) | Major coinsurance (in/out) | Implants (lifetime max) | Orthodontia (dependents under 19) | Teeth whitening |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter 2.0 | $17/mo | $1,000 | 50%/40% (6-mo wait) | not covered | not covered | not covered | not covered |
| Core 2.0 | $24/mo | $1,000 | 50%/40% | 50%/30% | $700 | not covered | not covered |
| Achiever 2.0 | $30/mo | $1,750 | 70%/60% | 50%/30% | $1,000 | $500/yr, $1,000 lifetime | not covered |
| Diamond 2.0 | $39/mo | $2,000 | 80%/70% | 50%/40% | $1,000 | $500/yr, $1,000 lifetime | $500/yr |
| Premier 2.0 | $46/mo | $3,000 | 85%/75% | 60%/50% | $1,250 | $750/yr, $1,500 lifetime | $500/yr |
Preventive care is 100%/100% in-network/out-of-network on every tier from day one. Basic care has no waiting period except on Starter 2.0 (6 months); major care and orthodontia carry a 12-month wait on the tiers that cover them. The deductible is $0 on in-network preventive, $50 out-of-network preventive, and $50 on everything else (whitening carries its own separate $50 deductible). Out-of-network percentages vary by state — Texas shows higher out-of-network reimbursement (85/85-80/80-70/70-50/50) and Florida shows lower basic out-of-network (50/40 on Core/Starter); in CT, IA, MO, NC, ND, NH, SC and VT, out-of-network reimbursement is based on usual, customary and reasonable (UCR) fees rather than a fixed schedule. Some tiers' yearly maximum also increases in years 2 and 3 (Forbes Advisor, July 2025, cites Starter 2.0 stepping from $500 to $750 to $1,000).
What Guardian actually quoted on Sept 7, 2026 (age 35, coverage from Oct 1)
None of the pages we audited on September 7, 2026 published ZIP-level premiums, so we ran Guardian's own quote tool for a 35-year-old across five major metros:
| ZIP / metro | Starter 2.0 | Core 2.0 | Achiever 2.0 | Diamond 2.0 | Premier 2.0 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10001 — New York, NY | $22.91 | $30.54 | $44.46 | $55.84 | $71.48 |
| 90001 — Los Angeles, CA | $26.08 | $40.50 | $46.54 | $57.51 | $67.89 |
| 77001 — Houston, TX | $27.34 | $37.38 | $45.20 | $55.63 | $74.54 |
| 33101 — Miami, FL | $25.28 | $27.67 | $33.78 | $43.64 | $51.37 |
| 60601 — Chicago, IL | $29.58 | $40.44 | $44.90 | $55.50 | $73.26 |
Miami quoted the lowest premium on every tier we checked. Houston and Chicago came in highest on Premier 2.0, at $74.54 and $73.26/mo. And the gap isn't trivial on mid-tier plans either: Core 2.0 costs about 33% more in Los Angeles ($40.50) than in New York ($30.54) for identical coverage.
Premiums vary by ZIP and age; these are the exact figures Guardian's quote tool returned on the date shown, not published rate-card prices. Your quote will differ.
Select 2.0: Guardian's plan for ages 50+
| Plan | Starting at | Yearly max | Basic coinsurance (in-network) | Major coinsurance (in-network) | Implants (lifetime max) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Select Complete 2.0 | $21/mo | $1,000 | — | 40% | not covered |
| Select Core 2.0 | $24/mo | $1,250 | 50% | 50% | $1,000 |
| Select Achiever 2.0 | $43/mo | $2,500 | 80% | 50% | $1,250 |
Select 2.0 plans carry no waiting periods at all — a meaningful advantage over Advantage 2.0's 12-month major-care wait — but they don't include orthodontia or teeth whitening.
Source: guardianlife.com, individuals-families/dental-insurance and Guardian's online quote tool, retrieved September 7, 2026.
Pay 10–60% less at the dentist — starting today

- No waiting period
- No annual cap
- Use it the same day
- Pre-existing conditions OK
A dental savings plan is a membership (not insurance): show your card, pay the discounted rate. No claims, no denials, no annual cap. If you're uninsured or you've hit your plan's maximum, it's usually the cheapest way to pay for exactly the procedure you're pricing on this page.
See plan prices in my area30-day money-back guarantee · cancel anytime
Disclosure: this is an affiliate link. We may earn a commission if you buy a plan, at no extra cost to you. Real Dental Costs is independent and is not the plan provider.
What does Guardian dental insurance cover?
Coverage isn't one fixed formula on Guardian's Advantage 2.0 lineup — it steps up by tier (guardianlife.com, individuals-families/dental-insurance, retrieved Sept 7, 2026):
- 100% of preventive care on every tier — cleanings, exams, bitewing X-rays — no out-of-pocket cost in-network, from day one.
- 50-85% of basic care in-network — fillings, simple extractions — depending on tier (Starter 2.0 and Core 2.0 at 50%, up to Premier 2.0 at 85%). No waiting period except on Starter 2.0 (6 months).
- 50-60% of major care in-network — crowns, root canals, bridges — on the tiers that cover it (Starter 2.0 doesn't), after a 12-month wait, up to the annual maximum.
- Deductible — $0 for in-network preventive, $50 for out-of-network preventive, $50 for everything else.
- Annual maximum — $1,000 to $3,000 depending on tier; some tiers step up over years 2 and 3.
- Implants — a separate lifetime maximum of $700 to $1,250 on the tiers that cover them (not Starter 2.0).
- Orthodontics — dependents under 19 only, on Achiever 2.0, Diamond 2.0 and Premier 2.0, with a separate yearly and lifetime maximum.
How much will you really pay? (procedure-level OOP table)
The table below models out-of-pocket cost across Guardian's Advantage 2.0 tiers, using ADA Health Policy Institute 2022 national average fees and the coinsurance ranges from the tier table above. The "you pay" figures assume the deductible is already met, in-network provider, and annual maximum not yet exhausted.
Independent estimates based on ADA HPI 2022 national average fees and Guardian's published Advantage 2.0 coinsurance by tier (guardianlife.com, retrieved Sept 7, 2026). Actual OOP depends on tier, deductible status, annual max remaining, and contracted fee.
Does Guardian dental really save you over $1,300 on a crown?
Guardian's marketing states a crown normally costing "$2,000+" is reduced to "under $700" with their plan (guardianlife.com, 2026). Here is an independent model:
- National average crown cost: ~$1,300 (ADA HPI 2022).
- Typical in-network contracted rate: $800-$1,000 (30-40% discount from list price).
- Guardian pays 50-60% of contracted rate, depending on tier, after the $50 deductible and the 12-month major-care wait: roughly $375-$525.
- Your OOP: approximately $350-$525, not $700 — the savings claim appears to reference a higher-than-average list fee (above $1,400) before the contracted rate.
The real takeaway: in-network, your crown cost likely runs under $600 OOP with Guardian, which is meaningful savings — just not always framed the same way Guardian's marketing presents it. Guardian Direct also shows root canal + crown at $62-$116 with a plan vs uninsured (dentalexchange.guardiandirect.com, 2026), but the uninsured baseline fee and plan tier are not disclosed.
DHMO vs DPPO: where does Guardian fit?
Guardian's individual plans are PPO only — its own plan pages describe Advantage 2.0 and Select 2.0 as "not dental HMO" (guardianlife.com, retrieved Sept 7, 2026). If you want a DHMO, you'll need a different carrier; here's the general market comparison so you know what you're trading off:
| Factor | A typical DHMO (other carriers) | Guardian's DPPO (Advantage 2.0) |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly premium | Usually lower | $17-$46/mo starting, five tiers |
| Deductible | None | $0-$50 depending on service and network |
| Annual maximum | None (copay per procedure) | $1,000-$3,000 depending on tier |
| Network flexibility | Restricted panel only | Any dentist; best rates in-network |
| Preventive cost | Fixed copay (often $0-$10) | 100% covered in-network |
| Crown cost | Fixed copay per plan schedule | 50-60% of contracted fee, by tier |
| Best for | Predictable low-use; city dwellers | Anyone who values dentist choice and Guardian's network |
A DHMO can be cheaper if you stick to the network and don't need major work, but Guardian doesn't offer one to individuals. Guardian's DPPO wins when you want out-of-network access or need major procedures — because you pay a percentage rather than a fixed copay that may be higher than the coinsurance equivalent.
Guardian Direct vs Guardian Life: what is the difference?
Guardian operates two distinct consumer-facing dental channels:
- guardianlife.com — the individual plan purchase portal for individuals and families, sold through DTC GLIC, LLC (an agent of Guardian), plus brokers Guardian names such as Kelsey National and Careington. Advantage 2.0 tiers run $17-$46/mo starting; Select 2.0 (ages 50+) runs $21-$43/mo starting. Coinsurance is spelled out by tier, not one flat formula.
- guardiandirect.com (GuardianDirect, via dentalexchange.guardiandirect.com) — a direct-to-consumer marketplace for individual plans, positioned as a simpler purchase experience. Shows savings scenarios (e.g., root canal + crown at $62-$116 with plan vs uninsured, per dentalexchange.guardiandirect.com, 2026). The specific contracted rate and plan tier behind the savings figure are not disclosed.
Both channels draw on Guardian's network of 139,000+ dentists (guardianlife.com/individuals-families/dental-insurance, retrieved Sept 7, 2026), but plan offerings and pricing may differ. Compare both portals before buying if you are purchasing as an individual.
How good is the Guardian dental network?
Guardian reports 139,000+ in-network dentists nationwide, with savings of up to 40% off standard dental rates in-network (Guardian internal reporting, June 2024, vs. Fair Health mean fees) (guardianlife.com/individuals-families/dental-insurance, retrieved Sept 7, 2026) — one of the larger U.S. dental PPO networks. Coverage is strong in urban and suburban areas. However, Reddit user reports (2025-2026) cite network gaps in rural and some suburban markets, and concerns about claims processing speed. Before enrolling, run a provider search at guardiandental.com with your zip code to confirm in-network options near you.
Guardian dental waiting periods and how to avoid them
Advantage 2.0 plans impose:
- Preventive care: no waiting period on any tier.
- Basic care (fillings, simple extractions): no wait on Core 2.0, Achiever 2.0, Diamond 2.0 and Premier 2.0 — a 6-month wait on Starter 2.0 only.
- Major care (crowns, root canals, bridges): 12-month waiting period on the tiers that cover it (Starter 2.0 doesn't cover major care at all).
- Orthodontics: 12-month waiting period when covered (Achiever 2.0, Diamond 2.0, Premier 2.0 only).
Select 2.0 (ages 50+) has no waiting periods at all — the fastest route to major-care coverage if you qualify by age. Employer-sponsored Guardian group plans often waive waiting periods too. If you need major work soon, Select 2.0, an employer group plan, or another no-waiting-period individual plan may be worth comparing. See our full guide at dental insurance waiting periods and dental insurance with no waiting period.
Is Guardian dental insurance worth it? (break-even by tier)
Using ADA HPI 2022 national average fees and the actual ZIP 10001 (New York) premiums Guardian quoted a 35-year-old on Sept 7, 2026:
| Tier | Monthly / Annual Premium | Breaks Even With... |
|---|---|---|
| Starter 2.0 | $22.91/mo — $275/yr | 2 cleanings ($104 avg each) ≈ $208 benefit — close to break-even; no major-care coverage at all |
| Core 2.0 | $30.54/mo — $366/yr | 2 cleanings + 1-2 fillings ($90 avg, 50% covered = $45) ≈ $253-$298 benefit — needs the $700 implant cap or a crown to fully break even |
| Achiever 2.0 | $44.46/mo — $534/yr | 2 cleanings + 1 filling + progress toward a crown or the $1,000 implant cap — after the 12-month major-care wait |
| Diamond 2.0 | $55.84/mo — $670/yr | Needs a crown or root canal (OOP savings ~$375-$525) plus whitening use to clear the premium, after the 12-month wait |
| Premier 2.0 | $71.48/mo — $858/yr | Requires the highest-value major work — implant near the $1,250 lifetime cap, or ortho — to break even |
If you expect only preventive care, Starter 2.0 is the most efficient option, though it won't help with anything beyond cleanings. If you anticipate a crown, root canal or implant this year, remember the annual maximum caps what any tier pays out, and major care doesn't kick in until 12 months after enrollment — plan the timing accordingly.
This is independent pricing research, not insurance advice. Coverage percentages, deductibles and maximums vary by state, plan tier, age and zip code — always verify directly with Guardian before making decisions. Data retrieved September 7, 2026 from guardianlife.com plan documents and Guardian's online quote tool.
Guardian dental waiting periods and missing tooth clause
Guardian DPPO plans commonly include a missing tooth clause: a tooth that was missing before your coverage start date may not be covered for replacement (implant, bridge or denture) under major care benefits. This catches many enrollees off guard when they need an implant for a pre-existing gap. Read more at missing tooth clause dental insurance and review Guardian's plan documents for the exclusion language before enrolling.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Guardian dental insurance cost per month?
What does Guardian dental insurance cover?
Does Guardian dental cover implants?
What is the Guardian Diamond dental plan?
Is there a waiting period for Guardian dental?
Does Guardian sell a DHMO plan?
How large is the Guardian dental network?
How much does a crown cost with Guardian dental?
Is Guardian dental insurance worth it?
What is Guardian Direct dental?
Which Guardian plan is cheapest in my state?
Does Guardian have a plan for seniors?
Compare with other dental insurers
Anthem Dental Insurance
The 5 Essential Choice tiers, 14 states, what each tier pays.
Ameritas Dental Insurance
PrimeStar Lite / Boost / Complete: day-1 vs year-2 benefits, three ZIP quotes.
Dental Insurance Hub
Compare all major carriers and plan types side by side.
VADIP: Veterans Dental Insurance
Delta vs MetLife compared — published premiums, waiting periods, maximums.
UnitedHealthcare Dental Cost
Annual max exhaustion math and FEDVIP unlimited max explained.
Blue Cross Blue Shield Dental
How the 36-company federation affects your plan and premiums.
Delta Dental Cost Estimator
How to read your real out-of-pocket on Delta's plans.
DHMO vs DPPO: Which Costs Less?
Full comparison of HMO and PPO plan structures across carriers.
AARP Dental Insurance Cost
Delta-administered, membership-gated — published rates and the true year-1 total.
Independent dental pricing research — every series carries a named source, and corrections are logged publicly. Not medical advice.