Price typeMeasured cash survey · by state · 2025-2026confidence 72/100expand_more
Measured cash survey — State averages measured by a published cash-price survey (ASQ360/CareCredit) or by Real Dental Costs' own observed implant series.
- Source
- Real Dental Costs observed single-implant series (51 state markets, DOI 10.5281/zenodo.20531728; Spearman 0.945 vs ASQ360)
- Observation
- own observed cash-price series, state average
- Period
- 2025-2026
- Sample
- n = 51
- Granularity
- by state
- Modelled
- no — measured
- Updated
- 2026-08-23
Measured state average (own series); the band around it is modelled from the observed spread across the 51 markets.
Confidence 72/100 (medium) = 35 % source tier + 25 % granularity + 20 % freshness + 20 % sample/dispersion. How we score it · same block in the open API
Dental Implant Cost in 2026
A complete single-tooth dental implant costs $3,760-$5,733 in the U.S. in 2026, including the post, abutment and crown. Full-arch options run $18,000-$35,000+ per arch for All-on-4/6, and replacing both arches commonly totals $36,000-$100,000+. Insurance rarely covers the implant itself.
Estimate your implant cost
Every quote depends on the type of restoration, the material, whether you need a bone graft or sinus lift, and how many implants are placed. Use the calculator below for a personalised range, then compare it against the independent benchmarks underneath.
Dental Implant Cost Calculator
Adjust the factors below for a personalised 2026 estimate
paymentsEstimated Cost
* Estimates based on 2026 U.S. national averages. Actual costs vary by location and provider.
timelineLifetime cost projection
Replacing one missing tooth — total cost as the years add up
Illustrative single missing-tooth national averages (2026 USD). Typical longevity (clinical consensus): implant restoration 15+ years, fixed bridge 10–15 years, removable partial 5–8 years.
Implant cost by type (2026 benchmarks)
The single biggest driver of price is what you are replacing. A single tooth and a full arch are different orders of magnitude, so beware of headline prices that quietly compare different solutions. The ranges below are compiled from our own published implant-pricing dataset (DOI 10.5281/zenodo.20531728) and published payer and provider fee data (2024-2026), and are deliberately free of any single clinic's commercial framing. Not sure which implant architecture applies to your situation? Compare all 9 types of dental implants — endosteal, mini, subperiosteal, zygomatic, All-on-4 and more — each with its national average cost and ideal candidate profile. If you are still weighing an implant against a bridge or denture, the implant vs bridge vs denture: full cost comparison models the 15-year total cost of ownership for every option.
Per tooth for single implants; per arch for All-on-4/6 and zygomatic; both arches for full-mouth. Source: Real Dental Costs — compiled from published payer and provider fee data (2024-2026).
Aspen Dental vs ClearChoice vs Affordable Dentures & Implants: what the chains publish
Three national chains dominate the implant search results, and only two of them publish a price. Aspen Dental publishes a single figure — $4,259 per implant on average, range $3,158–$6,533, post + abutment + crown, "an approximation based on 2026 internal data" (as published 2026-08-25) — and nothing at all for implant dentures or fixed full arches. ClearChoice publishes four ranges: $5,000–$7,500 for a single tooth, $8,000–$13,500 per arch for implant dentures, $10,500–$13,500 for an implant bridge and $14,000–$36,000 per arch for fixed full-arch implants, all described as the "average price paid nationwide including all available discounts" (as published 2026-09-01). Affordable Dentures & Implants does not publish a single-tooth price at all: its 368 office pages (crawled 2026-08-22) list $2,700 per implant post to secure a denture, $5,995 per arch for a 2-implant snap-in package and $12,995 per arch for fixed implant teeth — "starting at" minimums, identical in every office.
Set against those, the independent-dentist benchmark for a complete single implant is $4,507 on average ($3,760–$5,733) and moves by state — $3,759 in Alabama to $5,733 in California. None of the three chains publishes a per-state price. Pick your state and what you need below to line the published chain figures up against the observed independent band where you live, and to see which chain takes Medicaid.
Implant Cost Decider: Aspen Dental vs ClearChoice vs Affordable Dentures & Implants vs independent dentist
Aspen Dental and ClearChoice (published 2026-08-25) vs Affordable Dentures & Implants (368 offices, 39 states) vs the observed independent-dentist band in your state
| Where | Published price | What it includes | Medicaid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aspen Dentallowest published Published national average as of 2026-08-25 ("an approximation based on 2026 internal data"); no per-state price | $4,259 avg (range $3,158–$6,533) | Post + abutment + crown | Not accepted (chain-wide) |
| ClearChoice Published as the "average price paid nationwide including all available discounts", as of 2026-09-01; centers are metro-only | $5,000–$7,500 (per tooth) | Post + abutment + crown | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Affordable Dentures & Implants "Starting at" figure identical on all 368 office pages crawled 2026-08-22; the chain sells implants to hold dentures, not single-tooth crowns, so it is not comparable here | $2,700 per implant post (not a crown price) | Titanium post to secure a denture only — abutment and crown not included | 368 offices in 39 states, 120 listing Medicaid |
| Independent dentist, U.S. average Real Dental Costs observed series, 51 state markets | $4,507 avg ($3,760–$5,733, per tooth) | Post + abutment + crown | Adult Medicaid almost never covers implants; a few states approve them as medically necessary with prior authorization |
Lowest published figure: Aspen Dental — $4,259 (per tooth)
The gap between the lowest and highest comparable figure above is $1,991 for the same restoration. Chain figures are national averages or “starting at” minimums; the independent band is what dentists across the U.S. were observed charging. Bone grafts, sinus lifts, extractions and sedation are extra everywhere.
Aspen Dental and ClearChoice prices as published on their own cost pages, 2026-08-25; Affordable Dentures & Implants “starting at” prices from its 368 office pricing pages, crawled 2026-08-22; independent-dentist band from the Real Dental Costs procedure API (observed single-implant series, DOI 10.5281/zenodo.20531728). Independent pricing research, not a quote and not medical advice.
| Restoration | Aspen Dental (published) | ClearChoice (published) | Affordable Dentures & Implants ("starting at") | Independent dentist, U.S. (RDC) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single tooth, post + abutment + crown | $4,259 avg ($3,158–$6,533) | $5,000–$7,500 | not sold as such ($2,700 per denture-securing post) | $4,507 avg ($3,760–$5,733) |
| Snap-in implant denture, per arch | no price published | $8,000–$13,500 | from $5,995 (2-implant package) | $8,000 avg ($5,000–$13,000) |
| Fixed full arch, per arch | no price published | $14,000–$36,000 | from $12,995 | $26,000 avg ($18,000–$35,000) |
| Price by state? | No | No | No (same minimum in all 368 offices) | Yes, 51 markets |
| Takes Medicaid? | No, chain-wide | Not stated | 120 of 368 offices list it (dentures, not implants) | Varies; adult Medicaid almost never covers implants |
Two things the table hides. First, the chain figures and the independent band do not measure the same thing: Aspen and ClearChoice publish national averages (ClearChoice's after discounts), Affordable Dentures & Implants publishes a floor, and our band is what dentists were observed charging in each state — so a chain that looks cheaper nationally can be dearer than the local independent price in a low-cost state like Alabama. Second, every figure above is before bone grafting, sinus lifts, extractions and sedation, which are billed on top everywhere. For the full price lists see Aspen Dental's 2026 prices, what ClearChoice really costs and Affordable Dentures & Implants' all-office price list; for whole-mouth cases, full mouth dental implants cost works through the per-arch and both-arch totals.
What's actually included in the price
A dental implant is a three-part system, and a legitimate quote covers all three:
- Implant post — a titanium or zirconia screw placed in the jaw, which fuses to the bone (osseointegration). Often not the most expensive part.
- Abutment — the connector that sits just above the gumline. Frequently billed separately.
- Crown — the custom lab-made tooth you see. Usually the costliest single component because of materials and lab fees.
A complete implant can legitimately come in under $3,760 in the cheapest markets — our Alabama data goes down to about $3,135 — so a low number is not proof of a partial quote on its own. But once a quote drops well under that, it almost always prices the post only. Always confirm the post, abutment and crown are bundled before comparing two estimates.
Hidden and adjunct costs people miss
These line items are not "the implant," but they appear on most real treatment plans. Bone loss is the most common reason a price climbs:
| Item | Typical U.S. cost |
|---|---|
| Consultation & exam | $100 – $350 |
| 3D CBCT scan | $300 – $600 |
| Tooth extraction | $150 – $500 |
| Bone graft | $800 – $3,500 |
| Sinus lift | $1,500 – $4,500 |
| IV sedation | $500 – $1,500+ |
What drives the price up or down
- Number and type of implants — full-arch protocols share support structures, so the per-tooth cost falls as you replace more teeth.
- Material — premium zirconia restorations cost more than acrylic/PMMA hybrids but resist staining and wear longer.
- Provider — specialists (oral surgeons, periodontists, prosthodontists) charge more than general dentists, which often pays off in complex or bone-loss cases.
- Implant brand — established systems (Straumann, Nobel Biocare, Dentsply Sirona) carry long-term part availability; generic systems can save upfront but complicate future repairs.
- Location — major metros typically run 20-50% higher than suburban practices. Across states the gap reaches +52% — $3,759 in Alabama vs $5,733 in California for the same single implant, per our 2026 annual report on U.S. dental costs.
Insurance, HSA/FSA and financing
Most dental plans treat the implant post as elective, but you can still cut the bill:
- Related procedures — extraction, bone graft and the crown are often covered around 50% up to your annual maximum.
- Two calendar years — staging treatment across a year-end boundary can tap two annual maximums.
- HSA/FSA — implants are an IRS-eligible medical expense, so pre-tax dollars lower the real cost by your tax rate.
- Financing — CareCredit and similar cards offer 0% promotional periods; dedicated dental lenders (Proceed Finance, GreenSky) fund large full-mouth cases; many practices offer in-house plans.
Implants vs bridges vs dentures: 20-year view
| Factor | Implant | Bridge | Denture / partial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Typical lifespan | 20-30+ years | 5-15 years | 5-8 years |
| Preserves jawbone | Yes | No | No |
| Affects nearby teeth | No | Shaves healthy teeth | Can stress anchors |
| Long-term cost pattern | Mostly one-time | Periodic replacement | Ongoing relines/replacement |
Implants cost more upfront, but because bridges and dentures need repeated replacement, implants are frequently the lower lifetime cost once a 20-year horizon is considered.
Pay 10–60% less at the dentist — starting today

- No waiting period
- No annual cap
- Use it the same day
- Pre-existing conditions OK
A dental savings plan is a membership (not insurance): show your card, pay the discounted rate. No claims, no denials, no annual cap. If you're uninsured or you've hit your plan's maximum, it's usually the cheapest way to pay for exactly the procedure you're pricing on this page.
See plan prices in my area30-day money-back guarantee · cancel anytime
Disclosure: this is an affiliate link. We may earn a commission if you buy a plan, at no extra cost to you. Real Dental Costs is independent and is not the plan provider.
Want the raw numbers? Implant prices for every state are open data in the US Dental Cost Index. Got a quote already? See the fair price benchmark for implants to check whether it sits in the typical range for your state.
If the tooth is still in place and the goal is cosmetic rather than structural, the comparison above is the wrong one — weigh veneers against implants instead, since a veneer resurfaces a tooth you keep while an implant replaces one you have lost.
The CDT codes on your implant quote
A single-tooth implant is really three procedures — and three billing lines — even though ads quote it as one price:
| Code | What it means on your bill | Part of the job |
|---|---|---|
| D6010 | Surgical placement of the implant body (the titanium post) | The surgery |
| D6057 | Custom abutment — the connector built to fit your implant | The connector |
| D6058 | Abutment-supported ceramic crown | The visible tooth |
Our published $3,760-$5,733 single-tooth range covers all three lines together. That's the number to compare quotes against — a headline price that maps only to D6010, the post placement, is the classic teaser: the abutment and crown lines arrive later and can double the total. If bone grafting is on your plan, that's an additional code (D7953 for socket preservation, among others) with its own fee — decoded in our bone graft cost guide.
When you compare treatment plans, ask each office for the fee per CDT code: it's the only way to line up a three-line quote against a bundled one.
Related implant guides
Implant Fair Price Benchmark
What an implant should cost in your state — check your quote.
Titanium vs Zirconia
Material trade-offs and 10-year outcomes.
All-on-4 vs All-on-6
When the extra implants are worth it.
Bone Graft Cost & Recovery
The most common reason a quote rises.
Sinus Lift Cost
Upper-jaw bone augmentation, explained.
Bridge vs Implant
20-year cost comparison.
Does Insurance Cover Implants?
What a plan really pays — and the clauses that block it.
Medicare & Dental Implants
The medical-necessity loophole.
Frequently asked questions
Why are dental implants so expensive?
How much is a single tooth implant vs a full mouth?
What is included in the price?
Does dental insurance cover implants?
What hidden costs should I expect?
How long does the implant process take?
Are dental implants worth it versus bridges or dentures?
How can I lower the cost of dental implants?
How much does a dental implant cost at Aspen Dental?
How much does ClearChoice cost compared with a regular dentist?
How much are implants at Affordable Dentures & Implants, and do they take Medicaid?
Independent dental pricing research — every series carries a named source, and corrections are logged publicly. Not medical advice.